Our Director

Shri.A Rajarajan is Distinguished Scientist and currently Director of Satish Dhawan Space Centre SHAR (SDSC SHAR), Sriharikota, known as Space Port of India & is a Member of INSPACe Board and SPACE Council. He is an expert in the area of Composites.

His sustained contributions and technology leadership at ISRO has been transformative for making our nation self reliant in the field of space technology. He has developed Launch Complex Infrastructures to meet the increased demand of launches from various entities and for ISRO`s prestigious missions like Human Space Programme (Gaganyaan) and Small Satellite Launch Vehicle. He has equipped the Centre to concurrently meet the launch base infrastructure of ISRO and commercial space industry in line with the new space policy, through comprehensive resource planning. Exclusive launch complex for Small Satellite Launch Vehicle is being configured & realized under his leadership.

As Director, SDSC SHAR, he is leading multidisciplinary technical teams in the Solid Motor production and Launch Complex Infrastructure to meet ISRO`s increased demand of launches and successfully executed several key flights including Chandrayaan-3, Human Space Programme (Gaganyaan) experiment-TVD01, Aditya L1, Small Satellite Launch Vehicle (SSLV), LVM3 M2 / OneWeb India-1- the first dedicated commercial mission and Vikram-S – the first privately built rocket of the country.

He is in the forefront in enabling strategic technology development of solid propellant motors such as installation of 4.5t and 10t solid propellant mixers through a group of industries.He scripted history by launching the first ever private rocket of the country i.e. VIKRAM-S, which has opened a new arena for the space programs.

He used COVID-19 induced disruption as an opportunity to optimize resources and introduced several innovative technologies.He was at the helm when four different types of launch vehicles where successfully launched within a four month period in early 2023, creating a record of sorts. And finally his crowning glory is the Chandrayaan-3 programme, where he coordinated and facilitated tests of the lander systems and the entire launch campaign at SHAR besides playing a key role as Chairman, Launch Authorization Board (LAB).

During his carrier spanning nearly four decades, He has held several positions of leadership at Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre (VSSC), where he held senior positions as Deputy Director of three major entities. During this period, he is specialized in design and development of launch vehicles and spacecraft composites systems including the carbon –carbon composites and paved way for building a technology centre of Excellence in the composite area. He also synergized all activities towards towards the design of key propulsion systems of SSLV and in the formation of a dedicated entity for Space ordinance in VSSC.

He has played pivotal role in outsourcing of composites for Spacecrafts and Launch vehicles to industries and development of various related activities. He also played a crucial role in the indigenization of critical space systems and was instrumental in enthusing industries and fostering collaborations, enlisting them as partners with ISRO in the advancement of key capabilities for Composites and solid motor production.

He was instrumental in Outsourcing of Solid rocket motor production,utilising the available propellant manufacturing facilites available with industry.

Presently he is the President of ISAMPE, India from Nov 2023 onwards.He has several International Journal and Conference papers and was awarded with a patent in the area of Film-Boiling CVI technology development.

He has been awarded with Honorary Doctorate by Sathyabama University, Chennai for his excellent contributions for space applications. In recognition of his meritorious contribution for space research, he has been felicitated with several awards and honors including ISRO Merit award and Team excellence awards.